LARAMIE, Wyo. (December 18, 2020) – Senator Chris Rothfuss, the Senate Minority Floor Leader of the Wyoming State Legislature, is a 2020 recipient of the Golden Bell Award, given annually by the Wyoming School Boards Association.

Sen. Rothfuss has represented Senate District #9, located in Albany County, in the Wyoming State Senate since 2011, and he is a strong advocate for K-12 education. Due to the respect he has earned from his colleagues and his experience, he is often a leading voice when any educational topic comes up on the senate floor.

“As the Senate Minority Leader, he engages with majority leadership to shape legislation, coordinate policies and advocate for education,” wrote ACSD School Board Chair Janice Marshall in the nomination letter. “Senator Rothfuss is knowledgeable on diverse topics related to education. School facilities, curriculum, funding, and scholarship opportunities are areas where he brings understanding and influence. He is an experienced leader whose work is valued by his colleagues. He has earned respect throughout Wyoming for his unwavering articulate work on behalf of education.”

Sen. Rothfuss has served on numerous educational committees, including Senate Education Committee, the 2020 Select Committee on School Finance and Recalibration, the 2020 Select Committee on School Facilities, and the 2020 Wyoming’s Tomorrow Task Force.

The Golden Bell Award is awarded to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of education in the state of Wyoming. Nate Breen was the other recipient of this year’s Golden Bell Award. Breen was nominated by Laramie County School District.

Follow the Albany County School District on Facebook at or on Twitter at the handle @ACSD1WY to stay up to date on all the latest news in the district.