LARAMIE, Wyo. (May 21, 2021) – At the 2020-21 Celebration Convocation, Albany County School District #1 (ACSD#1) named Lisa Johnson of Beitel Elementary School the district’s Teacher of the Year. She will now be nominated for Wyoming Teacher of the Year.

“Ms. Johnson epitomizes the skills and dispositions that make a high-quality, modern educator,” wrote Beitel principal Loren Engel in the nomination letter. “Student achievement matters to Ms. Johnson. She works just as hard to decipher the struggles of kids as she works to celebrate their successes.”

Engel also wrote that Ms. Johnson goes above and beyond, as she spends lunchtime helping students, and her car can be found parked at the school well after hours and on weekends. Engel joked that he nearly needs to confiscate her keys to keep her away.

Ms. Johnson makes personal connections with students and families, and even gets to know students outside of her first grade classroom.

At the celebration convocation, ACSD#1 also recognized each school’s individual Teacher of the Year, employees who reached a milestone in years of service, and retirees.

A full list of honorees is available below.

Albany County School District #1 Teacher of the Year

Lisa Johnson Beitel Elementary School

District Schools’ Teacher of the Year

JD Dixon Centennial Elementary School
Molly Amen Harmony School
Sara Pommarane Indian Paintbrush Elementary School
Jennifer Taufa Laramie High School
Kristin Cortney Laramie Middle School
Katie Apland Linford Elementary School
Jennifer Bennett Rock River School (7-12)
Dallie Bowers Rock River School (K-6)
Christopher Livingston Slade Elementary School
Marissa Drew Spring Creek Elementary School
Ashley Koch UW Lab School

10 Years of Service

Jonathan Bailey Jason Boorom Michael Hancey
Michael Henley Teresa Keeney Amanda Lopez
Thomas Newman Lindsay Stoffer Joy Thompson
Yenicet Wilcox

15 Years of Service

Charlotte Abelson Molly Amen Kimberly Dale
Ariane Eicke Simone Furtado Peggy Gallegos
Robyn Hardesty David Hunter Beth Anne Kozlowski
Juliette Murdock Shelly Shepherd Linda Temte
Michelle Zitek

20 Years of Service

Michael Aguirres Stacie Anfinson Therese Callaghan
Molly Garson Cheryl Johnson Terena Main
Jerri Rauer Gail Reid Dennis Sanchez
Shirley Storrie Angelica Varca Sherry Waggoner
Mark Williams Aleyamma Wootton

25 Years of Service

Larry Deal Roberta Dunlavy Ahmed Shebaily

30 Years of Service

Thomas Hudson Colleen Posey

35 Years of Service

Nancy Goldsmith-Perry

Albany County School District #1 Retirees

Kenneth Chavez Elizabeth Clingman Randy Dolence
Shawn Dovey Lynnette Doyle Edward Goetz
Sandra Halone Michael Hicks Suzette Kidwiler
Maria Love Sharon Mathiesen Mike McManamen
Cindy Palm Donald Quick Ahmed Shebaily
Teresa Strube Susan Taucher Linda Temte
Eric Weitzel Theresa Williams Aleyamma Wootton


Follow the Albany County School District on Facebook at, on Twitter at the handle @ACSD1WY, or on YouTube to stay up to date on all the latest news in the district.